

Indigenous Allied Health Australia Annual General Meeting Thursday 27 November 2014 Hyatt Hotel, 20 Commonwealth Avenue, Yarralumla, ACT, 2600

The meeting opened at 10 minutes past 11am.

Ordinary Business

1 Acknowledgement of country

Faye McMillan opened the meeting. She acknowledged the Traditional Custodians on the lands where the meeting was taking place, and the elders past and present. She acknowledged the different nations represented at the meeting, and the elders past and present for all members and associate members of IAHA.

2 Apologies

Robyn McMillan, Gemma Purcell.

3 Approval of minutes

MOTION: That the Draft Minutes of the AGM held on 28 November 2013 in Adelaide, be

accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Alison Fillery Seconded: Robyn Young

Carried

MOTION: That the Draft Minutes of the General Meeting, held via teleconference on 26

July 2014 be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Dameyon Bonson Seconded: Kylie Stothers

Carried

4 Chairperson's report

Faye McMillan noted that her report is contained in the IAHA Annual Report, which was distributed. She acknowledged the dedication and commitment of her fellow Board members and the IAHA Secretariat in ensuring the members' concerns and wishes are carried out.

The meeting noted the contents of the report.

5 Financial statements and reports

Faye McMillan noted that the relevant financial statements and reports are in the IAHA Annual Report. She asked that the meeting receive and consider the financial report, the directors' report and the auditor's report for the year ended 30 June 2014.

The reports were accepted as tabled, and the contents noted.

Faye McMillan stepped down as chair, and Justin Bernau, of Clayton Utz, chaired the meeting for the duration of the election process.

6 Election of directors

Justin Bernau advised the members that they were to consider and, if they thought fit, pass the following resolution as an ordinary resolution:

"Resolution 1: that the appointment of the persons selected by the ballot process as directors of IAHA as announced by the Chair of the annual general meeting be confirmed and will take effect as at the end of the AGM."

He advised that even though each candidate had submitted a statement for publication on the IAHA website, they would also be given an opportunity to address the meeting directly. While each candidate spoke, the other candidates for the position would leave the room.

For the student director position, there were two (2) nominees. This position has a tenure of one (1) year.

Sophie L'Estrange Diane Bakon

[The members voted on the ballot papers and then placed them in the ballot box]

After the counting of votes Justin announced that **Diane Bakon** was the successful candidate.

For the graduate director positions, there are seven (7) nominees, but only five (5) were present at the meeting who spoke to members. Those not present had an opportunity to put their statements on the IAHA website.

Jane Havelka
Faye McMillan
Steve Stanton
Trevor Ritchie
Steve Corporal
Verina Crawford
Ivy Trevallion

[The members voted on the ballot papers and then placed them in the ballot box]

There was a break for lunch during which time the votes were counted, and a preferential system used to decide the final outcome. Justin Bernau announced that the successful candidates were:

- Faye McMillan
- Trevor Ritchie
- Steve Stanton
- Jane Havelka

Resolution: That the appointment of the persons selected by the ballot process as

directors of IAHA as announced by the Chair of the annual general meeting be confirmed and will take effect as at the end of the AGM

Proposer: Kylie Stothers Seconder: Di Bakon

Carried

7 General business

Chaired by Faye McMillan

7a Questions and discussions form the floor

- Can both Indigenous and non-Indigenous people be mentors? Response yes, depending on the mentees requirements.
- <u>Can IAHA support members in obtaining registration for their professions?</u>
 Response IAHA is looking at how it can advocate, and has entered into discussions with the Djirruwang program at CSU. IAHA's role is not to support specific organisations, but can advocate on behalf of allied health. Mental health work is governed by state-based legislation, and there is a question as to where it sits.
 - <u>Is the approach re mental health going to be the same for work in the drug and</u> alcohol sphere?

Response – this needs to be assessed according to the IAHA criteria and the question needs to be presented to the Board for due consideration.

What are the possibilities for state-based meetings?

Response – the Secretariat has given this some thought, but it depends on funding. A request for additional funding has been made, to support meetings/forums in regional and remote areas. Whether this idea can go forward depends on capacity and resources.

7b Presentation to outgoing director and Deputy Chair, Kylie Stothers

Faye McMillan described her as a woman of integrity, with a great depth of understanding of her responsibilities to her family, community and IAHA. She has made personal sacrifices to continue in her role with IAHA, and members have benefitted. Kylie has been part of IAHA since day one, and has always recognized that culture is an integral part of the profession. Her leadership style is something others aspire to.

The presentation gift is a representation of her journey.

Kylie Stothers stated that being part of IAHA has been a big journey, and her vision was that there would be a number of nominees for Board positions. She noted that the Secretariat is the organisation's number one asset, and she thanked the Board members for teaching her about leadership, integrity, and good governance. She was proud of IAHA's profile, and that it is a safe space where people can be heard.

8 Acknowledgements (directors) Chaired by Faye McMillan

Faye McMillan thanked Justin Bernau, Clayton Utz and the scrutineers for managing the process so well. She acknowledged Kylie Stothers as the outgoing Deputy Chair, and acknowledged all nine members of the Board – Trevor Ritchie, Steve Stanton, Tom Brideson, Rebecca Allnutt, Di Bakon, Nicole Turner, Jane Havelka, Kelleigh Ryan, and Faye McMillan.

The meeting closed at 1.10pm