

Annual General Meeting Thursday 26 September 2019 Darwin Convention Centre, 10 Stokes Hill Road Darwin City, Northern Territory

The meeting opened at 8.58am.

Ordinary Business

1 Acknowledgement of country

The IAHA Chairperson opened the meeting and acknowledged the Traditional Custodians on the lands where the meeting was taking place, the Larrakia Nations, and their Elders past and present. She acknowledged the different nations represented at the meeting, and the Elders past and present for all members and associate members of IAHA.

2 Apologies

Corrine Butler

3 Approval of minutes

MOTION: That the Draft Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 1

December 2018 in Sydney, New South Wales, be accepted as a true

and accurate record.

Moved: Jed Fraser Second: Robyn Young

Carried

The IAHA Company Secretary provided a brief overview of the purpose of the Special General Meeting convened in February 2019 and the endorsed changes to the IAHA Constitution.

MOTION: That the Draft Minutes of the Special General Meeting held on 20

February 2019 in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory and via

telepresence be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Jed Fraser

Seconded: Kirrilaa Johnstone

Carried

4 Chairperson's report

The Chairperson noted that her report is contained in the 2018-19 IAHA Annual Report, which was available to all members online. The Chairperson noted was that all the work and achievements by the Board, Secretariat and Members throughout the year was guided by the IAHA the Strategic Plan.

She acknowledged the dedication and commitment of her fellow Board members and the IAHA Secretariat for their work throughout the year.

The meeting noted the contents of the report.

5 Financial statements and reports

The Chairperson noted that the relevant financial statements and reports are in the IAHA Annual Report (online) and available in hardcopy. The Chief Executive Officer provided some context to the financial statements, particularly considering the head office move, establishment of NT offices and the receipt of project-based funding.

Members from the floor asked about the effect of non-for-profit status of the organisation and how this was affected by for-profit work. The discussion considered how profits are used by the organisation and reinvested into the membership.

She asked that the members receive and consider the financial report, the directors' report and the auditor's report for the year ended 30 June 2019.

The reports were accepted as tabled, and the contents noted.

Moved: Melissa Croft Seconded: Jed Fraser

Carried

Nicole Turner stood down as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson Trevor-Tirritpa Ritchie introduced Kumu Samarakoon, the Returning Officer, of HWL Ebsworth, who chaired the meeting for the duration of the election process.

6 Election of directors

The Returning Officer advised the members that they were to consider and, if they thought fit, pass the resolution on the AGM agenda as an ordinary resolution.

It was noted that Mr Craig A. Eibeck had withdrawn their nomination for Director and for his name to be crossed off the ballot papers before voting, therefore numbering each box in preference from 1 to 6 only.

It was advised that the resignation of Director Tracy Hardy - which occurred after the notice of the AGM - had resulted in an additional vacancy on the Board. It was further explained that the Board had decided at their 20 September meeting, to retain one of the vacant positions on the Board to allow them to appoint a skills-based appointment if deemed necessary. The Board has obtained legal advice prior to pursuing these options.

Though all candidates had submitted a statement for publication on the IAHA website, they were also given the opportunity to address the members directly. While each candidate spoke, the other nominees left the room.

For the four (4) graduate director positions, there were six (6) nominees:

Craig A. Eibeck (Withdrawn)
Patricia Councillor
Kimberley Hunter
Sueanne Gola
Stephen Corporal
Nicole Turner
Clinton Schultz

[The members voted on the ballot papers and then placed them in the ballot box including any valid proxy votes received].

The Deputy Chairperson suspended the AGM at 10.40am.

The Deputy Chairperson reconvened the AGM at 11.10am.

The Returning Officer announced that the successful candidates in no specific order were:

- Kimberley Hunter
- Stephen Corporal
- Nicole Turner
- Clinton Schultz

Resolution 1: "That the appointment of the persons selected by the ballot process as directors of IAHA as announced by the Returning Officer of the

annual general meeting be confirmed and will take effect as at the

end of the AGM."

By show of hands (sixty-four (64) members present indicated their support)

Moved: Trevor-Tirritpa Ritchie Second: Kirrilaa Johnstone

Carried

The Deputy Chairperson welcomed the successful Board members and thanked all nominees, asking they continue being engaged as members of IAHA.

The Deputy Chairperson presented outgoing Director Patricia Councillor with a gift in appreciation of her contribution to the Board since 2015. Patricia spoke and thanked members for her time as Director and was looking forward to remaining engaged as a member of IAHA.

Trevor-Tirritpa Ritchie also thanked retired Board member, Diane Bakon, for her time on the IAHA Board and wished her well. Diane thanked the Deputy Chairperson, Board of Directors, Members and Secretariat.

8 General business

There was no general business discussed.

9 Acknowledgements (directors)

Chaired by Trevor-Tirritpa Ritchie

In closing the meeting, Trevor-Tirritpa Ritchie thanked Kumu Samarakoon, of HWL Ebsworth and the scrutineers for managing the voting process. He acknowledged the outgoing Directors, Diane Bakon and Patricia Councillor and thanked them again for their commitments and contribution to IAHA. He also acknowledged the members of the 2019 Board.

The meeting closed at 11.16am