2022 National Indigenous Allied Health Award Winners

IAHA congratulates the 2022 National Indigenous Allied Health Award recipients, which were announced as part of the IAHA 2022 National Conference held on the lands of Ngunnawal and Ngambri peoples of the ACT and surrounding region. The Awards recognised Indigenous excellence from across professions, sectors, and regions across the nation, celebrating the leadership of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander allied health workforce.


Craig Dukes Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Dr Stephen CorporalEastern Arrernte man and social worker.

Local Allied Health Champion Award

Winner: Kelly HydeBundjalung woman and mental health professional.

Indigenous Allied Health Student Achievement Award

Winner: Sharna MotlapMmbabram woman and nutrition graduate.

Allied Health Inspiration Award

Winner: Lauren HutchinsonMuruwari woman and Optometrist.

Future Leader in Indigenous Allied Health 

Winner: Ryley ParkEastern Arrernte man and currently studying Bachelor of Speech Pathology.

Contribution to Indigenous Research Award

Winner: Assoc Prof. Karla CanutoNaghir tribe of the Kul Kal Gul clan, and exercise physiologist.

Allied Health Workforce Leadership and Innovative Practice Award 

Winner: Tara LewisIman woman and speech pathologist.

Assistant in Allied Health Person of the Year

Winner: Lorraine RandallPitjantjatjara/Yankunytjatjara woman and Allied Health Assistant in speech therapy.

Indigenous Allied Health Professional of the Year

Winner: Chastina HeckNywaigi woman and pharmacist.

Commitment to Indigenous Health Award

Winner: Orange Medical Serviceson Wiradjuri land.