2023 Award Winners

Introducing our 2023 Award Winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Proudly sponsored by IAHA

Dr Mick Adams

Mob: Proud descendent of the Yadhiagana people with family ties in the Torres Strait and extended family relationships with the Gurindji, Warlpiri and Gurrumaru peoples.  

Profession: Senior Research Fellow at Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet



2023 Emerging Leader in Indigenous Allied Health 

Proudly sponsored by Rotary Districts of Australia

Tay Niua

Mob: Tjapukai (Kuranda) and Torres Strait Islander man with connections to Badu Island

Profession: Dental student




2023 Indigenous Allied Health Professional of the Year Award

Proudly sponsored by Australian Physiotherapy Association

Maddison Adams

Mob: Wulli Wulli women

Profession: Allied Health Manager at the Institute of Urban Indigenous Health (IUIH)




2023 Local Champion Award

Proudly sponsored by  Dietitians Australia

Michael Reynolds

Mob: Wiradurjuri man

Profession: Associate Professor Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Curriculum and Pedagogy Coordinator (Physiotherapy) School of Allied Health (SoAH) Australian Catholic University



2023 Health Workforce Award 

Proudly sponsored by Australian Dental Council

Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Service






2023 Indigenous Research Award

Proudly sponsored by Lowitja Institute

Dr Tina Brodie

Mob: Yawarrawarrka and Yandruwandha women

Profession: PhD scholar





2023 Allied Health Assistant of the Year Award 

Proudly sponsored by Early Start Australia

Taliyah Hawkins

Mob: Woppaburra, Darumbal and Gunggandji women

Profession: Allied Health Assistant