Congratulations RFDS Indigenous Health Scholarship recipients


IAHA would like to congratulate the recipients of the RFDS Indigenous Health Scholarship Scheme who were announced by Minister for Indigenous Health, the Hon Ken Wyatt yesterday at Parliament House.

Scholarship recipient for allied health, Amanda Bailey, with Minister Wyatt and Assistant Minister for Health, the Hon Dr David Gillespie MP

Minister Wyatt launched the new partnership of the RFDS with the Australian Indigenous Doctors Association (AIDA), the Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM), and Indigenous Allied Health Australia (IAHA) to deliver the RFDS Indigenous Health Scholarship Scheme.

RFDS scholarships will support Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander students undertaking remote or rural clinical placements in medicine, nursing, midwifery and allied health.

IAHA CEO Donna Murray said “The RFDS scholarships will provide much needed support for allied health students to undertake a rural or remote clinical placement which is critical for developing the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander allied health workforce. This is also an important step in further supporting locally driven workforce development models that provide culturally safe and responsive allied health services with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.


(L-R) Nicola Barker SRC Deputy Chair; Stephen Corporal, IAHA Director; Nicole Turner, IAHA Chairperson; Amanda Bailey; Kirrilaa Johnstone, SRC Chairperson; and Donna Murray, IAHA CEO.

“Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia (RFDS) CEO Martin Laverty said “Cultural safety and removal of racism in health care can be achieved by supporting Indigenous health care students and graduates to become the health system leaders of tomorrow.” 

The first recipients of the scholarship are:

  • Jennifer Mairu, for allied health;
  • Amanda Bailey, for allied health;
  • Ms Amanda Robinson, for medicine;
  • Mr Tim Haynes, for medicine;
  • Amy Thompson, for nursing/midwifery.



May 30, 2017


Posted by: Admin