IAHA Welcomes New Board

IAHA Board 2017At the IAHA Annual General Meeting held on the 2nd December 2016 the board for 2017 was decided with three new members and two re-elected members voted in by members. The Graduate Directors elected and re-elected included Matthew West (Podiatry), Danielle Dries (Physiotherapy), Faye McMillan (Pharmacy) and Trevor Ritchie (Occupational Therapy) and a new Student Director, Tracy Hardy also joins the Board for 2017. Current board member Nicole Turner was elected as Chairperson with Trevor Ritchie as Deputy Chairperson. There has also been two resignations from the board since the AGM with Faye McMillan effective as at 2 January 2017 and Jane Havelka effective 14 December 2016.

Matthew West is a Wiradjuri man who holds a Bachelor of Podiatry from University of Newcastle and currently works in the public healthcare system. Matthew has been an active member of IAHA and in 2013 was awarded the IAHA Future Leader in Indigenous Allied Health Award. Matthew brings to the board valuable experience in public health and a strong passion for allied health.

Danielle Dries is a physiotherapist and Kaurna-Meyunna woman. She is currently completing a degree in Medicine at the Australian National University, where she plays a leading role in the 9,000-strong National Rural Health Student Network. Danielle is a vocal advocate for the Close the Gap Campaign and has volunteered her time for IAHA by being a mentor for the Health Fusion Team Challenge.

Tracy Hardy is a proud Kamilaroi woman who is currently studying a Bachelor of Nutrition and Dietetics. Tracy has been active and enthusiastic Chairperson of the Student Representative Committee (SRC) and has represented IAHA at a number of conferences. Outside of the SRC Tracy is an active advocate for Indigenous rights. Tracy will bring valuable student insights to the board.

Current board member Nicole Turner (Nutrition) will take on the role of Chairperson with Trevor Ritchie moving into the Deputy Chairperson position. IAHA would like to thank former Chairperson Faye McMillan for her long-standing leadership, wisdom and commitment, over the past six years as Chairperson in driving IAHA forward to the successful organisation we now have. IAHA would also like to sincerely thank Rebecca Allnutt previous Deputy Chairperson, Jane Havelka and Tom Brideson for their ongoing leadership, support and commitment to IAHA and the board over many years.

December 13, 2016


Posted by: Admin