IAHA Awards

National Indigenous Allied Health Awards Celebrate Success

IAHA AwardsIndigenous Allied Health Australia (IAHA) held its first national Indigenous Allied Health Awards ceremony on Tuesday 26 November as part of their 2013 National Conference Gala Dinner at the Adelaide Hilton. .

“We decided to hold these annual awards at the request of our members, in order to recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander allied health professionals and students and our associate members’ contribution towards improving the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples,” said Ms Kylie Stothers, IAHA Deputy Chairperson. “The awards showcase outstanding achievements in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander allied health and provide identifiable role models to inspire all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to consider and pursue a career in allied health.”

“There are so many incredible allied health professionals, Indigenous and non-Indigenous, doing great work in the allied health space,” said Donna Murray, IAHA acting CEO. “Both allied health graduates, already working on the ground, and students who are yet to join the workforce can play an important role in improving the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.”

“Honouring the exceptional work of our current and future Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander allied health workforce is such a privilege,” said Ms Stothers. “As part of the judging committee I found it incredibly difficult to select winners from such worthy nominees and I congratulate them all for their achievements.”

IAHA is proud to announce the following winners for each category:

Future Leader in Indigenous Allied Health Award (proudly sponsored by the Healing Foundation)
Winner: Matthew WestWiradjuri man and final year podiatry student.

Indigenous Allied Health Student Achievement Award (proudly sponsored by The Australian Council of Pro Vice-Chancellors and Deans of Health Sciences)
Winner: Trevor Ritchie, Kaurna man and final year occupational therapy student.

Indigenous Allied Health Professional of the Year Award (proudly sponsored by Dietitians Association of Australia)
Winner: Tara LewisJiman woman and speech pathologist.

Commitment to Indigenous Health Award (proudly sponsored by SARRAH)
Winner: Grace WardKamilaroi woman and Aboriginal Health Worker.

IAHA Life Time Achievement Award
Winner: Professor Pat DudgeonBardi woman and psychologist.

Please visit our website for more information on the winners.

December 11, 2013


Posted by: Admin